Why is Sri Lanka banned by ICC

ICC Bans Sri Lanka from Cricket for 8 years

The International Cricket Council has announced a decision to ban Sri Lanka from international cricket for two years due to government interference in the country’s cricket board. ICC also decided to suspend the Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) with immediate effect, while the committee appointed by the ICC will run cricket in Sri Lanka during this period. The ban on SLC will end on 31 December 2020 and it is likely that SLC will be reinstated as a member of ICC after the completion of this period.

Sri Lanka’s cricket board is banned from international cricket by the International Cricket Council (ICC) following government interference in its affairs.

What is Sri Lankan Cricket?

Sri Lankan Cricket is an administrative body that runs all domestic and international competitions played in Sri Lanka. It was formed in July 2018 when the Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka (BCCSL) was dissolved following allegations of corruption, nepotism and sexual harassment.

Ban details

The ban came into effect on 27 October 2018, with immediate effect. The decision was made by an independent three-man committee appointed by ICC chairman Shashank Manohar. This committee included former New Zealand captain Martin Crowe, former Australian batsman Greg Chappell and former West Indies bowler Roger Harper.

Reaction: The government reacted sharply against this decision saying that they were not consulted before taking such a drastic step. The president Maithripala Sirisena also said that he would take up this issue at an appropriate level with all stakeholders involved.